Finalists of SUMP Award and Mobility Week Award revealed

European Commission Vice-President Siim Kallas, in charge of transport, and Commissioner for the Environment Janez Potočnik will present the awards at a ceremony on 24 March in Brussels, Belgium.

SUMP Award

This year’s Sustainable Urban Mobility Plan (SUMP) award recognises cities with SUMPs illustrating the ‘integration of economic, social, and environmental policy criteria’, the theme of the 2013 awards. The award is presented to local authorities which demonstrate excellence in developing and implementing their sustainable urban mobility plans. An expert jury evaluates the applications on their achievements and selects a winning city to receive the prize of EUR 10 000.

The SUMP Award is presented in the framework of the Commission's Sustainable Urban Mobility Campaign "Do the right mix", Polis is part of the consortium implementing the campaign. The SUMP Award winner will be revealed at the ceremony on 24 March. 21 applications from 11 EU countries have been submitted.

The finalists for the 2013 SUMP award are:

  • Rivas Vaciamadrid (Spain)
  • Strasbourg (France)
  • Vitoria-Gasteiz (Spain)

A detailed description of each finalist can be found here.

Fore more information visit or contact Dagmar Röller,

European Mobility Week (EMW) Award

The European Mobility Week (EMW) award rewards the local authority which is most actively promoting sustainable travel and introducing new measures to encourage a shift towards sustainable urban transport. The cities of Budapest, Ljubljana, and Östersund have been selected as finalists for their ambitious and innovative campaign programmes and for the consistent manner in which they have linked their activities to the 2013 EMW theme of ‘Clean Air, It’s Your Move!’

The shortlisted cities and finalists (in bold) for the 2013 EMW award are:

  • Bologna (Italy)
  • Budapest (Hungary)
  • Gdynia (Poland)
  • Hudiksvall (Sweden)
  • Labin (Croatia)
  • Larnaka (Cyprus)
  • Ljubljana (Slovenia)
  • Östersund (Sweden)
  • Sofia (Bulgaria)
  • Turku (Finland)

More details on each finalist can be found here.