Call fore 2018 European Green Capital Award and the European Green Leaf 2016

The European Green Capital title is given to a European city that has demonstrated a well-established record of achieving high environmental standards and is committed to ongoing and ambitious goals for future sustainable development. Cities across Europe with more than 100,000 inhabitants are eligible to apply for the title.

In addition, smaller cities with a population between 20,000 and 100,000 can apply for the European Green Leaf 2016. It recognises towns and cities that demonstrate a strong environmental record, with a particular emphasis on efforts that engage citizens' in environmental awareness, generate green growth and new jobs. The competition ran for the first time in 2015 and was well received. For 2016 the eligibility threshold has been lowered from 50,000 to 20,000 inhabitants.

The Will Your City 2018? leaflet is available to download here and the European Green Leaf 2016 leaflet is available to download here.

Both competitions are open to EU Member States, EU Candidate Countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland and for both, cities can apply online at

Preparation Workshop

EGCA Applicant Workshop The European Green Capital Award - Workshop for Applicant Cities will take place on 3rd July 2015 at the DG Environment offices in the European Commission in Brussels. The day provides potential applicants with an overview of the competition process, the do's and don'ts of applying, advice from previous applicants, finalists and winners and opportunities to network with other environmental frontrunners from across Europe.

Topics include:

  • The Benefits of being a European Green Capital;
  • How to complete a successful application;
  • Overview of Application form & Guidance Note;
  • Key elements of the winning bid to become the 2017 EGC;
  • Sharing Good Practices across Europe.