3 of the 4 cities shortlisted for European Green Capital 2015 are Polis members

The European Green Capital Award is an annual prize that goes to one city every year, singling out its environmental performance. To date, five cities have been awarded the title of European Green Capital: Stockholm 2010, Hamburg 2011, Vitoria-Gasteiz 2012, Nantes 2013, and Copenhagen 2014.

The Award is presented to a city in the vanguard of environmentally friendly urban living. The Expert Panel assesses the cities on the basis of 12 environmental indicators. The jury evaluates cities on their record of achieving high environmental standards, their commitment to on-going and ambitious goals for further environmental improvement and sustainable development, and the extent to which they can act as a role model and promote best practice in other European cities.

An independent panel of 12 experts assessed this year each entry on the basis of 12 indicators:

  • Local contribution to global climate change
  • Local transport
  • Green urban areas incorporating sustainable land use
  • Nature and biodiversity
  • Quality of local ambient air
  • Quality of the Acoustic Environment
  • Waste production and management
  • Water consumption
  • Waste water treatment
  • Eco innovation and sustainable employment
  • Environmental management of the local authority
  • Energy performance

Polis members, Bristol, Brussels and Glasgow along with Ljubljana, will now go forward to present their vision, their potential to act as a role model to other cities, and their communication strategy to the Jury in Brussels on 24 May. Following the Jury’s deliberations, the European Green Capital 2015 will be announced at an official Award ceremony in France on 14 June 2013, hosted by the current European Green Capital, Nantes.