Paris' Deputy Mayor for transport awarded for promotion of cycling

Morten Kabell, Mayor of the Technical and Environmental Administration in Copenhagen, and Marianne Weinreich, Head of Mobility at VEKSØ and Chairman of the CED handed over the award at the Velo-city conference today.

Every year, the Cycling Embassy of Denmark honors a prominent person within the international cycling community with the Leadership Award for Cycling Promotion. During the past months, we have collected nominations from people all over the world. And today, we could finally announce the winner:

“Deputy Mayor of Paris for Transport, Christophe Najdovski, has shown ambition and political will out of the ordinary. He has pushed Paris to the bold aim of becoming the world’s best cycle city by 2020. Paris is a metropolis with a low bike share and long-standing preference for cars. But the city is now working determinedly with cycling, introducing measures like traffic calming, 30 km zones, and promotion of e-bikes.”

High-profile nominees

Several high-profile nominees were in the race for the award this year:

  • Philipe Crist, International Transport Forum
  • Cor Van der Klaauvs, Gröningen, Netherlands
  • Luk Lemmens, member of the executive council of the province of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Francis Chu and Woon Taiwoon, LovecyclingSG (LCSG), Singapore
  • Danny Kennedy, Minister for Regional Development, Northern Ireland
  • The Green Shakti Foundation, Dehli, India
  • Governor Tokihiro Nakamura, Japan
  • Cesar Ricardo Criollo Preciado, Colombia
  • Khoo Teng Chye, Director of Centre for Liveable Cities, Singapore
  • Project “CICLO DE LA CICLA”, Colombia


Previous award winners

Previous award winners include New York City’s former Mayor Mike Bloomberg, Roelof Wittink of the Dutch Cycling Embassy,Lake Sagaris from Ciudad Viva, and Randy Neufeld from the SRAM Cycling Fund and Mayor of Münich, Hep Monatzeder, and Tony Lo from Giants.