Finalists for SUMP and Mobility Week Awards revealed

SUMP Award

Launched in 2012, the European Commission's Sustainable Urban Mobility Plan (SUMP) Award aims to encourage local authorities across Europe to adopt and develop their Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans (SUMPs). It also recognises outstanding achievements in each year’s SUMP chosen priority area.

This year, the award focuses on cities that have shown excellent monitoring and evaluation of both the planning and implementation of their SUMPs. This is critical in ensuring the long-term success of their strategies. The winning city will take home EUR 10 000, which can then be spent on further promoting the SUMP. Last year Rivas-Vaciamadrid in Spain came in first place, and this year’s winner will be revealed at the ceremony on 23 March. 17 applications from 10 EU countries have been submitted.

The finalist cities are:

  • Bremen (Germany)
  • Dresden (Germany)
  • Ghent (Belgium)

A more detailed description of each finalist can be found here.

European Mobility Week award

The European Mobility Week award rewards the most active local authorities promoting sustainable urban mobility. The award recognises the effort of towns and cities not only during the European Mobility Week, held last September, but also through permanent measures along the year. The cities of Murcia, Ostersund and Vienna have been selected for innovative activities linked to the 2014 theme “Our streets, our choice”. The winning city will be awarded with a professional three-minute video to promote its achievements. The three finalists, together with the rest of seven shortlisted cities, will be promoted as an example of best practice. An independent panel of transport experts will select the winner from the 38 cities in 16 countries that applied for the 2014 award.

The shortlisted cities and finalists (in bold) for the 2014 EMW award are:

  • Budapest (Hungary)
  • Getxo (Spain)
  • Larnaka (Cyprus)
  • Leon (Spain)
  • Murcia (Spain)
  • Ostersund (Sweden)
  • Palma de Mallorca (Spain)
  • Skopje (Republic of Macedonia)
  • Vienna (Austria)
  • Zagreb (Croatia)

More details on each finalist can be found here.