European sustainable urban mobility awards: SUMP and EMW Award finalists revealed

The winners of both awards will be announced by Transport Commissioner Violeta Bulc and Environment Commissioner Karmenu Vella at the award ceremony on 20 April in Brussels, Belgium.

EMW Award for promoting sustainable mobility

The EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2015 will be given to the city or town which promotes sustainable urban mobility exceptionally well with a particular focus on a shift towards more sustainable means of transport. Both the activities organised during one the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK in September and long-term measures implemented have been taken into consideration.

Among the 53 applications from 19 countries, the jury selected the following three finalists:

  • Lisbon (Portugal)
  • Murcia (Spain)
  • Palma de Mallorca (Spain)

Additional cities below have been shortlisted by the experts of the jury for their particularly good applications. These are Bacau (Romania), Lárnaka (Cyprus), Miskolc (Hungary), Nottingham (UK), Sofia (Bulgaria), Tríkala (Greece) and Vienna (Austria).

4th SUMP Award for considering multimodality in transport planning

The 4th SUMP Award aims to promote the adoption of Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans (SUMPs) across Europe, and to distinguish the mobility planning champions in line with the annual award theme. This year's award focused on multimodality and intermodality in sustainable urban mobility planning, which refers to the combination of various transport modes within one trip or separate trips.

A jury of experts in the field of sustainable urban mobility planning, multimodality and intermodality recognised the remarkable accomplishments of the following cities and appointed them as finalists:

  • Malmö (Sweden)
  • Utrecht (Netherlands)
  • Vienna (Austria)

The addtionally shortlisted cities for the SUMP Award are Leipzig (Germany), Maia (Portugal), Murcia (Spain), Reggio Emilia (Italy) and West-Midlands (UK).

More information

More information about the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK and the awards on:

  • Here for the 4th SUMP Award
  • Here for the official annoucement by the European Commission

Contact: Thomas Mourey ( or Dagmar Köhler (